Alaska Chef Named American’s Best Seafood Chef

Release Date: 
Monday, August 10, 2015

Louisiana Lt. Gov. Jay Dardenne named Alaska chef Beau Schooler the winner of the 2015 Great American Seafood Cook-Off, held Aug. 8, at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans. Chef Schooler was named America’s Best Seafood Chef, and he will wear the crown of King of American Seafood, as his and sous chef Travis Hotch’s Nose-To-Tail Sockeye Salmon recipe won over the judges. Coming in second place was chef Adam Evans of Georgia with his Roasted Spear-Caught Lionfish with Sapelo Island Clams. Louisiana chef Michael Brewer took third with his Louisiana Seafood Nachos.

“We enjoyed hosting the 12 chefs competing for the coveted title of America’s Best Seafood Chef. Congratulations to chef Schooler for captivating the judges’ taste buds among such a talented field,” Lt. Gov. Dardenne said. “Beyond naming the best seafood chef, we also get to show off the exceptional quality of Gulf seafood and encourage the competitors to feature our products in their restaurants.”

In its 12th year, the Cook-Off is North America’s premier seafood cooking competition and is dedicated to promoting sustainable and domestic fisheries. The Louisiana Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board holds the event annually in New Orleans through a grant from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

“I think we more than exceeded our expectations for this dish,” said Schooler, owner of The Rookery Cafe in Juneau, Alaska. “We’re definitely excited at the reception the judges gave the sockeye salmon. It is a beautiful fish but it is labor intensive–almost 10 minutes just to prep the fish. But I think that when prepared correctly, this is a fish that can really take off nationally.”

Many states hold their own seafood cook-offs where chefs qualify to compete in New Orleans. Chefs in 2015 represented Alabama, Alaska, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina and Texas.

Previous winners of the Great American Seafood Cook-Off include:

2014 – Terry White, Florida

2013 – David Crews, Mississippi

2012 – Gregory Gourdet, Oregon

2011 – Jim Smith, Alabama

2010 – Dean Max, Florida

2009 – Tory McPhail, Louisiana

2008 – John Currence, Mississippi

2007 – Tim Thomas, Georgia

2006 – Justin Timineri, Florida

2005 – Randy Evans, Texas

2004 – John Besh, Louisiana

Click here to read more.

Get in touch

Louisiana Seafood Promotion &
Marketing Board
1051 N. Third St., 3rd Floor
Baton Rouge, La. 70802
Call: 225.342.0552